A closed member returns to the club... How to reopen a member file?

A closed member returns to the club or goes to the club's member area to regularise their situation. It is possible to de-register the member directly from their member file OR (in the near future) to launch automated de-registration actions from the member area, depending on the club's policy.

Attention

Unlocking with automated actions will only be possible for members for whom an accounting closure has been carried out. If the closure is not an accounting closure, you will not be able to access the unlocking feature. If you still wish to proceed with an unlocking, you must first go through the accounting closure and then proceed with the unlocking. To find out whether or not a closure is accounting-based, this article may be useful.

How is a back office unlocking carried out?

First, let's take a look at how a de-registration process works in the back office... A closed member comes to the club and wants to become an active member again.

drapeau vert.pngSTEP 1 - LAUNCH THE UNLOCKING

To launch the unlocking, go to the member file and select Member actions > Member closure management.  

UNCLOSE 0.png

drapeau vert.pngSTEP 2 - EXCEPT A SPECIFIC CASE, CHECK 'UNDO THE EFFECTS OF THE LAST ACCOUNTING CLOSURE'. 

The next screen is:

UNCLOSE 1.png

At the next step, check the box 'Undo the effects of the last accounting closure', and…

  • The accounting items created during the closing to offset the available amounts or the debt amounts will be cancelled. The member will return to his pre-closing financial position and will be able to regularise his situation.
  • Memberships⚙️, packs or entry passes will be reactivated. 
  • Alerts⚙️created during the closure are archived. 

⚠️⚙️ For archiving alerts and reactivating members...

Additional parameters can be configured from Settings > Clubs / Legal > Member Closing.

  • If you check this box 'Archive the alert created during the closure'
  • If you check this box 'Cancel the cancellation of the membership if the disclosure is carried out in the same month as the closure': the membership will be reactivated automatically if it was cancelled in the same month as the cancellation. Otherwise, it will have to be reactivated manually. Same month" refers to the same calendar month. If the membership was cancelled on the 15th of the month, it must be cancelled before the 31st of the same month for it to be reactivated.

UNCLOSE 2.png

When is this box not ticked?UNCLOSE 3.png

Case 1 - You want to close a member, but he already has an open closure. You therefore remove the "closed" status without affecting the consequences of the old closure (by validating the closure without ticking the box) and then create a new closure.


Case 2 - You have manually performed actions related to the closure (resale of memberships, creation of invoices, activation of entry passes, etc.). Uncheck the box and you can cancel the closure status, to start again with a manual accounting closure and then an automatic closure.

In both cases, an insert will appear at the time of closure with details of what will happen to the member file.

drapeau vert.pngSTEP 3 - DEPENDING ON THE CASE, EITHER PROCEED TO PAYMENT OR UNLOCK THE MEMBER.

  • Case 1 - If the member has outstanding debts

Select 'Proceed to payment'.  UNCLOSE 4.png

The member must settle his debt.

Attention

⚠️On this screen, it will not be possible to change the amount to be paid (you can enter more, for example with vouchers, but never less), nor will it be possible to settle the debt by direct debit. Make sure that the member regularises his situation in all cases, otherwise the unlocking and related automated actions will not be carried out.

UNCLOSE 5.png

Case 2 - If the member has no outstanding debts

Select 'Unclose the member'.

UNCLOSE 6.png

Some practical examples of financial elements👩‍🏫

Case 1 - No financial elements created at the time of closing, the member's situation was balanced on its own.

In this case, no item will be created when the accounts are closed. The effects will be the possible reactivations of entry passes, memberships, packs, etc.

 

Case 2 - Did the member have any debts or payment incidents at the time of closing?

Credit notes have therefore been created in order to cancel them. The credit note will then be cancelled so that the debt or incident exists again and the member regularises his situation. The member will have to pay the debt at the time of the unlocking on the screen following the validation:

UNCLOSE 5.png

Attention

⚠️On this screen, it will not be possible to change the amount to be paid (you can enter more, for example with coupons, but never less), nor will it be possible to settle the debt by direct debit. Make sure that the member regularises his situation in all cases, otherwise the closure and related automated actions will not be carried out.

Case 3 - The member had overpayments or credit notes at the time of closure, so we created an invoice to allocate them.

The invoice will then be cancelled and any overpayments and credit notes will once again be available to the member.

Case 4 - You can't have two closures at the same time...

Therefore, it will always be the effects of the second closing that will 'count' for the unlocking.

And how does it work online?👩‍💻

Attention

There are two prerequisites for unlocking from the member area:

  • The member must first have been closed for accounting purposes.
  • The member must not have any debts with clubs in the network other than their home club.

For closed members who wish to return to the club and log into the member area, the first thing to do is to check that the settings correspond to what you want in Settings > Clubs / Legal > Clubs > Member closing.

UNCLOSE 7.png

  • The 'Allow the cancellation of a member account closure from the member area' box is used to automate the closure process, provided that the member has paid off their debts (and that they have no debts with other clubs).

Here are the screens displayed in the member area for a closed member with a debt and for a closed member with no debt.

CASE OF A MEMBER WITH DEBTS.pngCASE 2.png

  • The 'Unblock online purchase (if the purchase had been blocked)' box is used to reactivate the member's ability to make online purchases once the account has been closed.

Attention

Our advice is to avoid as far as possible selling new memberships after a closure without first unlocking the account. The best thing to do is not to authorise online purchases when the member is closed. We recommend that you leave this box unchecked in your settings:UNCLOSE 8.png

This will prevent a member who has not been declined from buying a new membership online.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.